All of these cabinet ministers have defied the government whip this year

Boris Johnson with his cabinet. Photograph: Aaron Chown / POOL / AFP.

Boris Johnson with his cabinet. Photograph: Aaron Chown / POOL / AFP. - Credit: AFP/Getty Images

Boris Johnson is attempting to keep his MPs in line by warning any that defy the whip on Brexit they will lose their status as a Tory MP.

A senior source from the Tory whips office said that any MP who defies the the party "will have the whip withdrawn and will not stand as (a) Conservative candidate in an election".

Former chancellor Philip Hammond called the move "staggeringly hypocritical" with at least nine MPs attending Cabinet who have voted against the whip this year.

The former rebels are:

Boris Johnson - The prime minister voted against Theresa May at the first two readings of the Withdrawal Agreement. He voted in favour of it at the third reading.

You may also want to watch:

Dominic Raab - The foreign secretary voted against the Withdrawal Agreement on its first and second readings.

Most Read

Priti Patel - The home secretary voted against the Withdrawal Agreement at all three opportunities.

Grant Shapps - The transport secretary voted against May's Brexit deal on the first two occasions.

Theresa Villiers - The environment secretary voted to reject May's Brexit deal on all three readings.

Esther McVey - The housing minister resigned as May's work and pensions secretary in November 2018. Since then, she has voted against the Withdrawal Agreement on two occasions.

Amber Rudd - The work and pensions secretary abstained on a government motion ruling out a no-deal Brexit in all circumstances on March 13. There was a three-line Conservative whip to oppose the motion.

Jacob Rees-Mogg - The former chairman of the hard-Brexit supporting European Research Group (ERG) is now Leader of the House of Commons, and opposed May's Withdrawal Agreement twice.

Jo Johnson - The prime minister's brother now attendscabinet as a business minister, he endorses the People's Vote campaign, and voted against the Withdrawal Agreement three times.

Additional reporting by the PA news agency.

Become a Supporter

The New European is proud of its journalism and we hope you are proud of it too. We believe our voice is important - both in representing the pro-EU perspective and also to help rebalance the right wing extremes of much of the UK national press. If you value what we are doing, you can help us by making a contribution to the cost of our journalism.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus