Ten EU countries halt extraditions to UK post-Brexit

Home Secretary Priti Patel at the Home Office

Home Secretary Priti Patel at the Home Office - Credit: PA

Ten EU member states have said they will no longer extradite their nationals to the UK following Brexit, the Home Office has said.

Countries including France, Germany and Poland have informed the UK of their refusal to allow the extradition of their nationals.

Two more – Austria and the Czech Republic – will only hand over suspects to the UK with their consent.

The European Arrest Warrant was introduced in 2004 and obliged member states to arrest and transfer suspects to countries where they were wanted.

The letter, sent from the Home Office to the House of Lords EU committee dates from earlier this month and was first reported by The Times.

You may also want to watch:

It said: “I can confirm a total of 10 EU Member States have notified of their intention to exercise an absolute bar on the extradition of own nationals. This includes Croatia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Latvia, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden.

“In addition, Austria and Czechia have noted own nationals will only be extradited with their consent.

Most Read

“Where Member States refuse the extradition of their nationals, the Agreement requires the State concerned to refer the case to its own prosecution authorities. In such cases the Agreement establishes an obligation to provide appropriate support to victims and witnesses.”

Become a Supporter

The New European is proud of its journalism and we hope you are proud of it too. We believe our voice is important - both in representing the pro-EU perspective and also to help rebalance the right wing extremes of much of the UK national press. If you value what we are doing, you can help us by making a contribution to the cost of our journalism.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus