Here are all the MPs who will vote against Article 50

PUBLISHED: 14:33 25 January 2017 | UPDATED: 11:45 27 January 2017

PA Wire/PA Images

PA Wire/PA Images

PA Wire/PA Images

When the triggering of Article 50 comes before the Commons many MPs will have a difficult decision - vote with their constituents or vote with the party whip.

Become a Supporter

The New European is proud of its journalism and we hope you are proud of it too. If you value what we are doing, you can help us by making a contribution to the cost of our journalism

So far it appears only one Conservative - the indefatigable Europhile Ken Clarke - and a handful of Labour MPs are willing to ignore the party line.

Here is a list of those we believe will vote against Article 50:


Ken Clarke - Rushcliffe


Neil Coyle - Bermondsey and Old Southwark

Geraint Davies - Swansea West

Thangam Debbonaire - Bristol West

Helen Hayes - Dulwich and West Norwood

Peter Kyle - Hove

David Lammy - Tottenham

Tulip Siddiq - Hampstead and Kilburn

Owen Smith - Pontypridd

Catherine West - Hornsey and Wood Green

Daniel Zeichner - Cambridge

Liberal Democrat

Tom Brake - Carshalton and Wallington

Alistair Carmichael - Orkney and Shetland

Nick Clegg - Sheffield Hallam

Tim Farron - Westmorland and Lonsdale

Sarah Olney - Richmond Park and North Kingston

Mark Williams - Ceredigion


Caroline Lucas - Brighton Pavilion

Scottish National Party

Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh - Ochil and South Perthshire

Richard Arkless - Dumfries and Galloway

Hannah Bardell - Livingston

Mhari Black - Paisley and Renfrewshire South

Ian Blackford - Ross, Skye and Lochaber

Kirsty Blackman - Aberdeen North

Philip Boswell - Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill

Deidre Brock - Edinburgh North and Leith

Alan Brown - Kilmarnock and Loudoun

Lisa Cameron - East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow

Douglas Chapman - Dunfermline and West Fife

Joanna Cherry - Edinburgh South West

Ronnie Cowan - Inverclyde

Angela Crawley - Lanark and Hamilton East

Martyn Day - Linlithgow and East Falkirk

Martin Docherty - West Dunbartonshire

Stuart Donaldson - West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine

Marion Fellows - Motherwell and Wishaw

Margaret Ferrier - Rutherglen and Hamilton West

Stephen Gethins - North East Fife

Patricia Gibson - North Ayrshire and Arran

Patrick Grady - Glasgow North

Peter Grant - Glenrothes

Neil Gray - Airdrie and Shotts

Drew Hendry - Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

Stewart Hosie - Dundee East

George Kerevan - East Lothian

Calum Kerr - Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk

Chris Law - Dundee West

Angus MacNeil - Na h-Eileanan an Iar

Callum McCraig - Aberdeen South

Stewart McDonald - Glasgow South

Stuart McDonald - Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East

Anne McLaughlin - Glasgow North East

John McNally - Falkirk

Carol Monaghan - Glasgow North West

Paul Monaghan - Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

Roger Mullin - Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath

Gavin Newlands - Paisley and Renfrewshire North

John Nicolson - East Dunbartonshire

Brendan O’Hara - Argyll and Bute

Kirsten Oswald - East Renfrewshire

Steven Paterson - Stirling

Alex Salmond - Gordon

Tommy Sheppard - Edinburgh East

Christopher Stephens - Glasgow South West

Alison Thewliss - Glasgow Central

Owen Thompson - Midlothian

Michael Weir - Angus

Elidh Whiteford - Banff and Buchan

Philippa Whitford - Central Ayrshire

Corri Wilson - Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock

Pete Wishart - Perth and North Perthshire

Social Democratic and Labour Party (Northern Ireland)

Mark Durkan - Foyle

Alasdair McDonnell - South Belfast

Margaret Ritchie - South Down

Become a Supporter

The New European is proud of its journalism and we hope you are proud of it too. We believe our voice is important - both in representing the pro-EU perspective and also to help rebalance the right wing extremes of much of the UK national press. If you value what we are doing, you can help us by making a contribution to the cost of our journalism.

Become a supporter

You've seen the news, now discover the story

The New European is committed to providing in-depth analysis of the Brexit process, its implications and progress as well as celebrating European life.

Try 13 weeks for £13

Latest Articles

Most Read

latest issue


Find your nearest pro-European campaigning activities, talks, protests and events nationwide.