Three Tory MPs join the breakaway Independent Group

PUBLISHED: 11:25 20 February 2019 | UPDATED: 00:04 21 February 2019

Anna Soubry is a People's Vote campaign supporter. Photograph: Yui Mok/PA.

Anna Soubry is a People's Vote campaign supporter. Photograph: Yui Mok/PA.

PA Wire/PA Images

Three Tory MPs have quit the party and joined the breakaway Independent Group, citing Theresa May's failure to stand up to hardline Brexiteers.

Writing to the prime minister, Heidi Allen, Anna Soubry and Sarah Wollaston said: “We no longer feel we can remain in the party of a government whose policies and priorities are so firmly in the grip of the ERG [European Research Group] and DUP.

“Brexit has re-defined the Conservative Party - undoing all the efforts to modernise it. There has been a dismal failure to stand up to the hard line ERG which operates openly as a party within a party, with its own leader, whip and policy.”

The Tory trio said: “The final straw for us has been this government’s disastrous handling of Brexit.

“Following the EU referendum of 2016, no genuine effort was made to build a cross-party, let alone a national consensus to deliver Brexit. Instead of seeking to heal the divisions or to tackle the underlying causes of Brexit, the priority was to draw up ‘red lines’. The 48% were not only sidelined, they were alienated.”

They added: “The country deserves better. We believe there is a failure of politics in general, not just in the Conservative Party but in both main parties as they move to the fringes, leaving millions of people with no representation. Our politics needs urgent and radical reform and we are determined to play our part.”

On joining The Independent Group, they added: “We intend to sit as independents alongside the Independent Group of MPs in the centre ground of British politics.

“There will be times when we will support the government, for example, on measures to strengthen our economy, security and improve our public services. But we now feel honour bound to put our constituents’ and country’s interests first.

“We will continue to work constructively, locally and nationally, on behalf of our constituents.”

Anna Soubry tweeted a picture of the letter of resignation signed by the three MPs, adding: “It is with a heavy heart I have today resigned from the Conservative Party.”

The move comes after Joan Ryan became the eighth Labour MP to quit her party and join the seven who initially formed the Independent Group, accusing Jeremy Corbyn of “presiding over a culture of antisemitism and hatred of Israel”.

Become a Supporter

The New European is proud of its journalism and we hope you are proud of it too. We believe our voice is important - both in representing the pro-EU perspective and also to help rebalance the right wing extremes of much of the UK national press. If you value what we are doing, you can help us by making a contribution to the cost of our journalism.

You've seen the news, now discover the story

The New European is committed to providing in-depth analysis of the Brexit process, its implications and progress as well as celebrating European life.

Try 13 weeks for £13

Latest Articles

Most Read

latest issue


Here's our pick of the upcoming Remain-focused campaign activities, talks and events nationwide.

Newsletter Sign Up

The New European weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy