Skip to main content

Hello. It looks like you’re using an ad blocker that may prevent our website from working properly. To receive the best experience possible, please make sure any blockers are switched off and refresh the page.

If you have any questions or need help you can email us

Full list of updated coronavirus tiers ahead of Christmas

Health Secretary Matt Hancock during a media briefing on coronavirus (COVID-19) in Downing Street, London. - Credit: PA

Health secretary Matt Hancock has told MPs Tier 3 restrictions will be extended across a wide area of East and South East England. Which tier are you in? Find out below.

Tier 3

No mixing indoors. People can only meet outdoors in limited places such as parks and public gardens. Pubs and restaurants must close, with the exception of takeaway sales.

  • Bedfordshire

  • Buckinghamshire

  • Berkshire

  • Peterborough

  • Hertfordshire

  • Surrey – except Waverley

  • Hastings and Rother

  • Portsmouth

  • Gosport

  • Havant

  • All 32 boroughs of London plus the City of London

  • Birmingham

  • Newcastle-upon-Tyne

  • Manchester

  • Northumberland

  • Kent and Medway

  • Leeds

  • Hull

  • Hartlepool

  • Middlesbrough

  • Stockton-on-Tees

  • Redcar and Cleveland

  • Darlington

  • Sunderland

  • South Tyneside

  • Gateshead

  • North Tyneside

  • County Durham

  • Greater Manchester

  • Lancashire

  • Blackpool

  • Blackburn with Darwen

  • The Humber

  • West Yorkshire

  • South Yorkshire

  • Birmingham and Black Country

  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent

  • Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

  • Derby and Derbyshire

  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire

  • Leicester and Leicestershire

  • Lincolnshire

  • Kent and Medway

  • South Gloucestershire

Tier 2

No mixing indoors, apart from support bubbles. Up to six people can meet outdoors. Pubs and restaurants can open, with last orders at 10pm and closing at 11pm – but alcohol can only be served with a substantial meal.

  • Bristol

  • North Somerset

  • Liverpool City Region

  • Cumbria

  • Warrington and Cheshire

  • York

  • North Yorkshire

  • Worcestershire

  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

  • Rutland

  • Northamptonshire

  • Suffolk

  • Norfolk

  • Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea

  • East Sussex (except Hastings: Tier 3 Very High Alert)

  • West Sussex

  • Brighton and Hove

  • Bracknell Forest

  • Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight: Tier 1, and Havant, Portsmouth and Gosport: Tier 3 Very High Alert)

  • Oxfordshire

  • South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor

  • Bath and North East Somerset

  • Dorset

  • Bournemouth

  • Christchurch

  • Poole

  • Gloucestershire

  • Wiltshire and Swindon

  • Devon

  • All other areas not listed in Tier 1 or Tier 3

Tier 1

Up to six people can meet indoors or outdoors. Pubs and restaurants can open, with last orders at 10pm and closing at 11pm.

  • Herefordshire

  • Cornwall

  • Isle of Wight

  • Isles of Scilly